2019-03-19_Mirna Bogdanovic_Foto_Dovile Sermokas_20
©Dovile Sermokas
MIRNA BOGDANOVIC GROUP debut album is in the making. We have successfully completed our crowdfunding campaign and the album is almost finished. Stay tuned for more news about the project!
Mirna Bogdanovic – voice, compositions
Wanja Slavin – alto saxophone, woodwinds, keyboards & co-producer
Pauline Peek – voice
Dora Osterloh – voice
Povel Widestrand – piano
Arne Braun – guitar
Felix Henkelhausen – double bass
Fabian Rösch – drums
Alex Killpartrick – sound engineering & mixing

“Singer/composer Mirna Bogdanovic has been a strong presence on the European jazz scene for some years now.
Her sultry tone, expressive phrasing and total musicality, make her the choice of many musicians “in the know”.
Comfortable in all walks of musical life, Ms. Bogdanovic is guaranteed to please.” – Greg Cohen, bass player known for his work with Ornette Coleman, John Zorn, Tom Waits, Woody Allen…

Mirna Bogdanović is a slovenian jazz singer-songwriter based in Berlin. She has graduated from the Jazz Institute Berlin in the class of Judy Niemack, Greg Cohen and Kurt Rosenwinkel. In 2015 she has won the Downbeat Student award for “outstanding performance”. She has taken private lessons from many renowned jazz musicians across the globe, was a member of the German National Jazz Orchestra (BuJazzO) and is an active member of the Berlin jazz scene. This year she is recording her debut album with the support of Elsa Neumann scholarship (NaFög).

Early Years
Mirna was born to a Slovenian mother and a Bosnian father in Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina. She grew up in a musical environment, because of her father being a Singer/Songwriter, and so she always loved singing, dancing and performing. With 7 years old she started to play piano and since then continued with her music education.
After finishing school, Mirna continued with her classical piano studies at Academy of music in the capital of Slovenia, Ljubljana, and later on with jazz vocal studies at Carinthia Conservatory for Jazz and Pop in Klagenfurt, Austria.
Next to her studies she attended many workshops and took private lessons from renowned jazz musicians, such as Danilo Perez, Danny Grissett, Sheila Jordan, Amy London, Anita Wardell, Jay Clayton, Theo Blackmann, Jen Shyu and many others.
In 2011, Mirna was one of the winners of Marianne Mendt Jazz Festival competition in Austria, the scholar of Slovenian’s Ministry of Culture & Yehudi Menuhin Live Music Now, Berlin.